“I Love a Rainy Night” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.


With the knowledge that I had a contract and it’s supporting schedules to review for an ex-colleague in the UK during the course of the weekend I decided on Saturday to give my energy levels a boost with a breakfast at Estel’s (regular readers of this log will know that this is my venue of choice for a breakfast).

Suitably “recharged” I returned to the condo Rose and I are renting to tackle the schedules and stuck to the task until I reviewed and made comment upon every one of them. This took me through until 2 pm when I had a light snack for lunch after which Rose and I were ready to set off and visit our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

We arrived at our lot in Tres Cocos around 3 pm and , seeing no signs of activity at ground level, went straight up the stairs to the First Floor where we could see that José and Alfonso had made exceptionally good progress on fitting the plycem boards for the veranda ceilings.

20130617-044229.jpg

Southern veranda done.

20130617-044831.jpg

Northern veranda nearly finished. The red arrow indicates where a small strip needs to be fitted.

20130617-045039.jpg

Eastern veranda nearly completed. Just a small area (the red arrow indicates the area) above the entrance to be fitted.

When we got around to the western (lagoon) side we saw that they were about to fit the final board.

20130617-045424.jpg

20130617-045603.jpg

20130617-045648.jpg

It’s in!

In the kitchen/dining room area we saw that they had started to fill the hole in the floor that had been created when they removed concrete that had not cured properly.

20130617-045920.jpg

Just the finishing coat to go.

With our tour of the First Floor completed we climbed the scaffold to find out what was going on up on the Second Floor where we found that Martin and Eduardo – now that the windows had been installed – had started applying the final coat of cement for external walls.

20130617-050256.jpg

Exterior wall for Rose’s walk-in closet and bathroom.

20130617-050402.jpg

Eduardo and Martin cleaning up after finishing the exterior wall for my walk-in closet and bathroom.

Whilst up on the Second Floor I had a look around my bathroom area and was pleased to see that all of the ceilings had been fitted with Sheetrock (plasterboard for UK readers).

20130617-071616.jpg

Vanity unit and toilet section.

20130617-071705.jpg

Ceiling for walk-in closet.

They had also demolished the shelf in my shower (because it wasn’t level) and created a new one.

20130617-072036.jpg

That’s better!

Yesterday (Sunday) it rained off and on throughout the day and this undoubtedly helped me to concentrate on reviewing the draft agreement I had been sent. Once I had finished this I settled down for some sport on the TV and was really pleased to find that ESPN was televising the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup.

It was still raining when the Spain v Uruguay match finished so I took the book I am reading out on to the veranda where I could listen to the rain but not get wet. I love a rainy night.

The headline is based on the 1980 single by Eddie Rabbitt which reached number one in the US Billboard Hot 100 but only number fifty-three in the UK Singles Chart.

One thought on ““I Love a Rainy Night” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “I Can’t Stand the Rain” in Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

Leave a Reply

