“Out of Touch” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Started my day yesterday just before 4 am (got to bed early the previous night) with a mug of coffee on the veranda reviewing a Heads of Agreement for a friend in the UK. It was the early May bank holiday in the UK and he wanted my comments for his return to work on Tuesday.

Think I may have mentioned before that I do not miss working (well not too much) and took to being retired a lot easier than I had thought I would but I do enjoy the opportunity to review the occasional contract for the business (national newspapers) that I spent my working life in. It’s good not to get out of touch!

When I had finished the review and typed up my comments on the draft and sent them to my friend I turned my attention to my In Box where I was really pleased to find an email from my nephew Bradley which was accompanied by a load of photos that he had taken of his son Cody and his cousins. He does this from time to time so we are not out of touch with how they are growing up. No real reason for including these photos in today’s edition other than I like them.

20130506-094348.jpg

20130506-094409.jpg

Had a viewing of the condo we are renting (it is up for sale) at 10 am so I made a hasty retreat and ‘disappeared’ to Estel’s for breakfast leaving Rose to deal with the potential purchasers. Fair division of labour I think!

The rest of the morning and early afternoon was spent taking care of general household chores until it was time for Rose and I to go to our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize. On the way there though we stopped off at the Belize Tourism Board office in Barrier Reef Drive to collect our Qualified Retirement Programme ID cards.

20130507-031837.jpg

Yes, I know, a real ‘mug’ shot.

When we got to the site we first saw Alfredo who was busily clearing the area under the first flight of stairs.

20130507-032109.jpg

On the second flight Angel and Edson were applying the second coat of cement for the low wall on which the handrails will be fixed.

20130507-032337.jpg

And they had finished applying the second coat of cement for the low veranda wall in front of the entrance to the house on the First Floor.

20130507-032614.jpg

South-east corner.

There wasn’t much action inside the house on the First Floor aside from a general clean up

20130507-033121.jpg

Porfelio (with the shovel) taking the quickest route for rubbish clearance

so I climbed the scaffold to gain access to the Second Floor where the focus was on applying the finishing coat of cement to the inside of the roof terrace walls.

20130507-033531.jpg

Northern wall running east to west.

20130507-033654.jpg

Martin, Rafael (aka The Frog) and Eric working in close proximity of each other in the north-western corner.

On the other side of the house Nicholas had been finishing the southern wall.

20130507-033944.jpg

20130507-034026.jpg

Zapeda reviewing Nicholas’ work in the south-west corner.

Not much had been done inside the house on the Second Floor but they had fitted the shower valve in Rose’s bathroom.

20130507-034402.jpg

On my way to the scaffold I could see that they had nearly finished the northern wall.

20130507-034602.jpg

Do you think they were trying to tell me something?

Off to The Dental Center in Belize City later this morning to meet with Doctor Hernandez to see what can be done for the implant that did not ‘take’. Taking the 8.30 Belize Express Water Taxi Service which should get me to Belize City around 10 am which will give me enough time to do at bit of grocery shopping at Brodies and pick up some tile samples from The Tile & Stone Center before my 11 am appointment.

The headline is based on the single released in 1984 by Hall & Oates which reached number one in the US Billboard Hot 100.

23 thoughts on ““Out of Touch” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “I’m Your Man” in Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  2. How cute are those little kids!
    Congrats on getting your residency card, but why does it expire at the end of the year?

    • They are really nice kids Kathi. The QRP card (not residency, different thing entirely) runs from Jan to Dec. so, tough if you are accepted midway through. Or, even worse, in November.

  3. Quite enjoying your posts! Hope to be there soon and on the house hunt once again. Afraid I don’t have the stamina or nerves for building – looking for doors would most certainly drive me bats.

    • Long time ‘no speak’ Marsha. Pleased that you are enjoying the posts. Disturbed though that this is only ‘quite enjoying’ (only joking). Selecting a door style was really that onerous. The tiles and bathroom stuff took far longer. Good luck with your search. When are you due here?

  4. I always thought that I was older than you but unless you now have a fake ID I’m almost a year younger (25/12/50) you’ve definitely worn better than me, must be the retirement.

  5. John, Is this your first home build, or did you and Rose also build or remodel in England? If you did build or remodeled previously, I am curious if this house has more hands-on and studying of all the intricate details you are putting into it. Can’t wait to see the internal stairs installed. I am sure you can’t wait for that as well.

    • Hi Janice. When Rose and I first stared out with each other we bought an old house that with major help from my Dad we gutted and refurbished. We thought about what we wanted for that house but nowhere near as much as for this one. As to the stairs, yes we are looking forward to them being installed. If only so we can stop using the scaffolding!

Leave a Reply

