“Doctor! Doctor!” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.


With an appointment with the doctor, Doctor Miguel Allison, for the medical required as an element of the application process to be allowed entry into the Belize QRP (Qualified Retirement Program) at 9.30 am there were no mugs of coffee for me on the veranda this morning. Just a couple of glasses of water. Not the same. Not the same at all. No wonder I didn’t have my normal joie de vivre!

We arrived at the doctor’s surgery on time and after about five minutes in the reception (small) area Rose was called in to see Doctor Allison. Within a minute I was in there too – he had to fill in some forms (forms follow us everywhere !). A quick blood pressure test for each of us and we were then sent to the laboratory in Barrier Reef Drive to have blood tests (to prove that neither one of us has AIDS).

20130227-122325.jpg

Outside of surgery in Trigger Fish Street.

We got to the laboratory within minutes and following a short wait – whilst listening to the groans of someone whose veins were not prominent (not too gory for you is it?) -Rose went in to give her blood sample. I followed within minutes to give mine. We were then asked to call back in an hour to collect the results so I went for a late breakfast (yes, at Estel’s) and that much needed mug of coffee. One sip and I felt normal (well as normal as I ever can be) again. Rose, not being as ‘hooked’ on a fried breakfast as I am, went shopping. Now that is what you call a division of labour!

While in Estel’s I was rewarded for my unstinting loyalty (my money) with the gift (OK so I asked for it) of a free Estel’s ‘T’ shirt. Must remember not to wear it when I go there otherwise I might end up being mistaken for a waiter!

20130227-122856.jpg

Can’t wait to wear it.

Breakfast over it was back to the laboratory to pick up our results – both clear, as we knew we would be – and back to the doctor to drop them off where we were told that we could pick up the medical reports after 3 pm.

On the way home Rose popped in to Wine de Wine to choose a bottle of wine to take with us to Pedro’s Hotel where we were going to be guests for a lunch hosted by Ian Ritchie (Captain Sharks).

On the way to Pedro’s Hotel I dropped the golf cart in for it’s service. It’s only about 50 yards away so exceptionally convenient.

We had -as is always the case – an exceptionally enjoyable lunch. This time it comprised of : chicken, roast potatoes, cauliflower, cabbage, broccoli, peas and corn on the cob. Oh, and gravy too. Followed by Cracker Barrel cheddar and a blue cheese ( no photographs of the dishes because I have ‘done’ my ‘meal on a plate’ shot for a while). Meal over we went outside to find a serviced and meticulously clean golf cart waiting for us.

We drove straight to the doctor’s to pick up our medical reports which, I am pleased to tell you, were A-OK. So, in a very happy frame of mind we headed off to our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize and got there around 3 pm.

We weren’t surprised when we got there to see that the guys were still fixing the forms. There are, after all, a lot of forms to fix. Walking from the golf cart we could see activity at the front of the house where they were focusing on the forms for the Second Floor veranda.

20130227-191759.jpg

Front of the house action.

A walk around to the side of the house and we could see that the forms had been completed.

20130227-191954.jpg

The northern side of the house. Look hard and you can see Rose on the veranda of the Ground Floor lagoon facing bedroom.

Continuing our walk we got to the back of the house ( the western (lagoon) side) to see that there were four guys at work fixing the rebar in place.

20130227-192335.jpg

A variety of approaches to do the same job.

A look towards the lagoon showed that the land had started to dry out following the drenching it had got from the high tide.

20130227-192602.jpg

Drying out nicely.

At the back of the house three guys were putting the supports in place for the extension of the veranda for the Second Floor at the south-western corner.

20130227-193237.jpg

20130227-193344.jpg

A close-up.

With all of the form work they are using a hell of a lot of plywood and while we were there Daniel Camal, our building contractor, arrived in his truck with a further supply.

20130227-193641.jpg

Anhill making light work of it.

Now that the Ground Floor has been tidied up many of the guys are using the rooms to keep their bags and change of clothes in. Much better than the bodega.

20130227-193853.jpg

Like a real changing room.

Before leaving our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize I asked Daniel if tomorrow I can go up to the top floor if I keep well out of the way of the guys. He agreed. So trainers for me tomorrow!

On the way home Rose and I saw that the driver of one of Harmouch’s ( or Harmouch’s Center Ltd to give its full name) had been particularly active.

20130227-194615.jpg

Now that’s what you call a pick-up truck.

The headline is based on the 1984 song by the Thompson Twins which reached number three in the UK Singles Chart and number eleven in the US Billboard Hot 100.

12 thoughts on ““Doctor! Doctor!” in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Pingback: “Doctor! Doctor!” in Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new … | I'M BELIZEAN TRAVELS

  2. Pingback: “Up, up and away” in Ambergris Caye, Belize. | Belize- building a new life . A Belize blog.

  3. Been following your blog for some time now. * NOW I know what rebar is — I’ve stepped on it before, it kind of popped up and banged my leg, quite hard! Nasty stuff, until you see it as part of a dream home being built on Ambergris Caye! I was in Caye Caulker and AC years ago and loved it. Just now I’m in Delaware and the skies are leaden. Your blog has cheered me through the Winter Blues, great photos and all. Really enjoy the “extra” photos too, like: plates of food, parade with darling children, discrete outdoor pee location, and some of the funny things you and Rose and the Mystery Blogger have shared. Thanks for helping me get through a dark winter. I’m considering relocating to West Palm Beach Florida in the near future, to be with my little family and to enjoy the tropical lushness. With a smile, Cynthia

  4. Wonderful blog! I’m thinking of building in SP myself, is there any chance you can go over the cost of some of the more local building materials? how much does shoring cost? labor, lorry full of dirt etc? I assume they’re a lot more expensive than the mainland since everything have to be shipped in?

    • Lee, first of all thanks for the compliment . Really appreciated.
      When starting the blog ( which initially was just to keep family and friends informed of how things were going for us) I didn’t set too many ‘ground’ rules. One of them though was that I would not include cost information within it.
      What I will tell you though is that the cost of any house build on Ambergris Caye will be heavily influenced by the type of house you want to build and where you want to build it e.g north of the bridge is generally more expensive than building south of the bridge (transport and labour costs). Obviously the land cost is an integral element of the cost and it’s location and size will influence its cost of purchase.
      Hope that this helps in some way. Not what you asked for but … Regards John

Leave a Reply

