Pimp My Ride in Ambergris Caye, Belize.


Mystery Blogger here.

I drove Mr. John to the water taxi to catch the 7:00 am boat, whilst driving we saw two backpackers and asked if they wanted a lift, yes they said. They had stayed at Pedros and thoroughly enjoyed their stay on the island. Mr. John is going to Belize City and back to the dentist. I dropped him off at the water taxi, then drove home. On the way there I stopped for two more backpackers, who were on their way to Victoria House to stay the last night of their vacation. Then home for me and a cup of coffee.

Today I am making a chicken curry. When I cooked curry in the UK I never used coconut milk but here it is part of the norm, and very tasty.

Curry ingredients

Chicken, red curry paste, cumin, curry powder, coconut milk, termeric, fresh ginger and chilli.

20130102-191756.jpg

20130102-192134.jpg

20130102-192247.jpg

20130102-192404.jpg

I saw this on the Island and want one I really really do. Either pink or french navy in colour.

20130102-192552.jpg

20130102-192641.jpg

How fantastic would I look behind the wheel. OK moving on. Back to the build.

As Mr. John is on the mainland I will be driving up North to take pictures of our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize. Today they are putting up the walls of the ground floor apartment and storage room ‘wey hey’. I picked up Mr. John from the Caye Caulker Water Taxi boat and drove straight upto our land to see the progress from this morning, quite a bit I say.

20130102-193127.jpg

20130102-193224.jpg

20130102-193319.jpg

We went to Lola’s (bar) for a New Year’s Eve party, after we celebrated the New Year we went on the beach to watch a firework display which I have to say was fantastic. In past years we had spent the New Year in the Ferry House on the Isle of Dogs, after welcoming in the New Year we would go outside and watch the firework display in Greenwich, so some traditions always stay.

To all my family and friends in blighty have a great New Year.

7 thoughts on “Pimp My Ride in Ambergris Caye, Belize.

  1. Happy New Year to you both. Sorry to hear that you have long and protracted dentist visits, John. I have need of some serious dental work, according to, ” Herself that must be obeyed. “…….But I always come back with….” who needs teeth to drink wine!!!!! ” Then I get that look, – you know the one. Glad to see the walls going up. At the rate the guys have progressed already, they should be finished with the first floor by next weekend and looking to set up the rebar for the ceiling. Blocks go very fast. Sounds like your mystery blogger is also an ex, ” Limey, ” as we are want to be labelled.
    Looking forward to your resumption of post tomorrow.
    Alan S.

    • A happy New Year to you as well Alan.
      I covered off my dental problems in some earlier editions. The consequence of an addiction to sweets when young and a dentist in the UK that I put misplaced trust in for nearly 40 years. The dentist I am going to here though really appears to ‘know his stuff’.
      Always felt confident that once they got to the block work we would see the house starting to take shape. The next steps are as you stare.
      Cannot reveal the nationality of the Mystery Blogger otherwise the identity might not remain a mystery for too long! Regards John

  2. This was the best post yet. I really enjoyed all the cooking bits. I found all that rebar staff rather boring. Hope your dental works went okay, John and go anytime, the Mystery blogger fills your shoes quite admirably!

    • Cannot believe that you don’t find rebar interesting! I really thought that I had created a world-wide fan base for it.
      Pleased though that you enjoyed the Mystery Blogger’s contribution. I am sure that there will be more because I am in for a fairly lengthy course of visits to the dentist.
      Kind regards
      John

Leave a Reply

