‘Celebration” in Ambergris Caye,Belize


In the previous edition I advised that I would not be publishing again until Friday 28 December. Well, I changed my mind. I am the publisher after all!

I decided that I would let you know just a bit about what our first Christmas Day on Ambergris Caye was like. Which is nothing to do with the raison d’ētre for this blog i.e. our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize but …

Got up early – I always do – with the need to wrap up the presents I had bought for Rose on Christmas Eve.The Christmas shopping experience on Ambergris Caye is nothing at all like it was in England (no surprise there really).

When we lived in the UK I would normally head off to the West End hitting the shops in Regent Street and Oxford Street where the high end stores such as Selfridges, John Lewis, Debenhams, Liberty, Jaeger, Hermes,etc are located.

The journey there – on an underground train – was normally unpleasant because the train was so full and the shopping experience was not much better. Shops full of pushing and shoving people who had obviously left their manners at home. The upside though was that as long as I had a credit or debit card, or both, with me getting presents for Rose was relatively easy.

Not so when living in Ambergris Caye, Belize. No packed underground . No underground in fact. No high end shops . No really packed shops. Not the same range of choice. But for me a much more pleasant shopping experience and one that, given the limited choice, I had to give far more thought to.

What could I buy for Rose that is easily available and – and this is the really important factor – are things that she would like and make use of ? I elected to buy things that she could hopefully make use of for her interest in handicraft.

So, what did I end up purchasing? Five packs of multi-coloured permanent marker pens,which included one set of fluorescent pens that Rose was particularly pleased with, a pack of fluorescent glue pens (she really goes for the fluorescent colours), three glitter glue sticks, two packs of paper ( regular readers will remember that she uses this as the core material for the jewellery that she makes) and (the one girly ( I know, it is slang) thing) a chocolate flavoured bar of soap.

20121226-052836.jpg

Cunningly I decided to wrap all of the presents individually. It took some time but it was worth it.

20121226-053032.jpg

I didn’t keep a record of how much the total cost of the presents was but doubt that it exceeded BZ$40. In the UK the price of just one of the Christmas presents I bought for Rose would not have been that low. What I do know though is that she really likes her presents.

As I ‘said ‘ earlier, the range of choice for presents on Ambergris Caye is nowhere near as extensive as it is in the UK. Just goes to show that ‘necessity is the mother of invention’!

With our respective Christmas presents unwrapped we set off for the Sad Bastards Christmas Party at Pedro’s Hotel. I am certain that very soon you will find full coverage of this event, including lots of photos of people wearing silly hats, on Tacogirl’s blog. So, I will just let you know that we had a fantastic lunch in great company and came away with a Sunbeam blender, some Ferrero Collection chocolates and a Nina Ricci eau de toilette collection as our Secret Santa presents.

The headline is based on the 1980 hit record by Kool & the Gang which reached number one in the US Billboard Hot 100 chart in February 1981.

Normal service i.e. our build in Ambergris Caye, Belize, will resume in Friday’s edition ( providing the guys turn in for work that is).

2 thoughts on “‘Celebration” in Ambergris Caye,Belize

Leave a Reply

