Planning of a different kind – dental work.


Shortly after arriving on Ambergris Caye I realised that the cap that I had repaired just before leaving the UK would not ‘last the course’. More permanent repair was necessary if I didn’t want to have a gap-toothed smile!

So, I set about researching what options were available because flying to England was not on the ‘menu’.

I googled dental practices in Cancun, Guatamala, Nicaragua and Belize to see which practices carried out implant work because this is how I intended to have the very frail cap replaced. There was an abundance of practices that carried this out but after considering the additional travel, time and cost I settled on one in Belize City that a dentist from Guatamala practised in implant surgery visited once a month.

So, I made an appointment for an examination which revealed that my teeth had not been particularly well looked after by the dentist that I had used the UK for nearly 40 years( chose him when my sister worked for him as a dental nurse). He informed me how much work needed to be done (a major overhaul was required) and how much it would cost(lots). I decided to test him by having the tired and frail cap replaced with an implant and after this I would decide to use him for the remainder (the bulk) of the treatment.

Well I had the implant fitted two weeks ago and it looks and feels fine so next Wednesday I am in the surgery again for the other 7 implants ( all day with my mouth prised open). When this has been done I will have the associated work – root canal, a bridge and some crown replacements – done.

Very necessary work but very expensive . Once done though it should ‘see me out’.

4 thoughts on “Planning of a different kind – dental work.

  1. plz let me know what this man charged you for the first single implant. also his contact information could be useful if you are still satisfied with his work. I am enjoying your blog. Went back to the very beginning.

    thank you Kristina Nadreau, Corozal

    • Hi Kristina. I think it best that you contact the dental clinic direct. I had 7 implants done and other stuff as well so I cannot look at the cost of 1 implant in isolation . For example there will be the cost of the local anesthetic. In my case this covered 7 implants.

      As to being satisfied with the treatment I have received, yes, very.

      Thanks for reading the blog.

Leave a Reply

