“The Boys Are Back in Town” in San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize.


For the last thirty days (Tuesdays excepted) I’ve been like a boat without a rudder. Fred Astaire without Ginger Rogers. Laurel without Hardy. Napoleon without Joséphine. Morecambe without Wise (for non UK readers they were a famous double comedy act ). Debbie without Dallas. Think I’ve started to lose the thread but I think you get the idea of the condition I found myself in.

What could cause such a state of mind you’re thinking. Did the rainwater collection tank under the house run dry? Did Rose see sense and leave me? No, nothing as trivial as that! Estel’s Dine By the Sea has been shut so that the owners and staff could all take a well earned break (now that little comment has got to be worth a couple of extra rashers of bacon).

I found other places to have breakfast during the closure. Obviously I did. I mean it’s not like were not spoilt for choice here and they’re all very good in their own way but…

I’ve still been enjoying my early morning “me time” out on the veranda -yep, the western, lagoon facing one on the first floor – with a mug (or two) of black, sugarless, coffee, the iPad and Ziggy but it just wasn’t the same. Something was missing.

They say (well I’m pretty certain someone did) that the older you get the quicker time passes. And it does, I’m sure it does. The two week holiday that’s over before you know it. You know the feeling. But this thirty day abstinence has dragged to the extent that it’s seemed like an eternity (OK I may be over-egging it a bit but I want you to understand and feel the graveness of the situation. Are you feeling it? Good, I’ll continue then).

This morning though I got my equilibrium back. Estel’s reopened and in honour of this momentous occasion I needed something special to wear. No not a tuxedo but something far more classy and fitting, my honorary Estel’s ‘T’ shirt. The decision made itself!

IMG_8049.JPG

IMG_8050.JPG

Awarded to me for outstanding loyalty! Jealous? You should be!

I was tempted, sorely tempted to be there when the doors opened at 06.00 hours but I showed amazing levels of self control and didn’t set off from home until 06.30 hours. Impressed? Of course you are.

As I pulled in to my usual parking spot in Buccaneer Street I saw what I had been waiting for. I should add that my ambitions, wants and needs are so much less than they used to be. But I’m happy with this.

IMG_8055.JPG

I strode purposely across the road, entered Estel’s and found myself a table (very easy to do at that time of the morning) and reacquainted myself with familiar sights.

IMG_8057.JPG

But something was different. What was it? And then it “hit” me. They’d freshened up the murals above the northern and southern beachfront entrances.

IMG_8058.JPG

Northern entrance.

IMG_8059.JPG

Southern entrance. I’ve only described it as an entrance because once you’re there you (well I can’t speak for you ,so me) don’t want to leave!

Check out the new artwork on the toilet doors too.

IMG_8067.JPG

IMG_8068.JPG

Neat eh. No excuse for being confused now!
I’d only been sitting there a few minutes when my mug (the third of the morning) of caffeine arrived.

IMG_8060.JPG

“Thanks Sam. I’ve missed you”.

And then it arrived.

IMG_8062.JPG

“Come to Daddy!”

Sam meanwhile assumed photographer duties for some backpackers that were heading off to Mexico.

IMG_8061.JPG

What about Charles, you’re thinking. Don’t worry he was inside.

IMG_8063.JPG

“Not considering price increases Charles, are you?”

I’ve not been sitting around waiting for Estel’s to reopen and I’ve got quite a lot to tell you about in future editions but for today I’m just so pleased that the boys are back in town.

IMG_8064.JPG

The headline for today’s (long awaited) edition is based on the single released in 1976 by Thin Lizzy which reached number eight in the UK Singles Chart and number twelve in the US Billboard Hot 100.

19 Comments

  1. I don’t blame you for having withdrawal symptoms. Estels is the best.

  2. woof4treats says:

    Your “Home Again” favorite table, mug of kaffee and is that Ziggy’s I-Pad? Woof, we won’t tell him. Can’t wait til we can eat there again since smell-a-vision not possible. Miss homemade tortillas.

    1. Hi Kathy I will have to be more descriptive when writing about the food. I’ll see if I can get your taste buds going!

    2. Oh, and Ziggy hadn’t got his own iPad. Yet!

  3. Rodney & Jamie Cozby says:

    We have been here since Sept 20 and it has literally been like an alcoholic going into DTs!!! Lol, we spied you sitting I’m the opposite corner and I knew from your blog post that I should not disturb you!! For we felt the big sigh of relief also and wanted to soak
    It all in as well. Man o
    Man, had to go back and take a morning nap!

    1. Hi Jamie and Rodney. You should have come over and said hello. I was probably reading a newspaper online. Nothing to do with the blog. If we see each other again (and I think I will recognise you) we must say hello.

  4. domoh says:

    That was our last stop before we left on July 20th and will be an early stop when we return on Oct 25th 😉 I’m sure Mum & Dad will love it.

    1. There’s nothing not to love, so they will!

  5. robert Vernon says:

    You were nearly two rashers short of a slice !!! Im sure you couldnt care a sausage about being egged on to talk more about Estelle’s. Friendliest Frijack in town LOL

    1. With comments like that my brain is scrambled !

  6. Susan says:

    Yea for you! Estelle’s is a very special place and no doubt you are somewhat traumatized, but a few days back at your table and mug of coffee and all will be right with the world again. You are lucky…we have to wait until January to get back there! And be sure it will be our first stop for breakfast!

    1. Well thank you Susan. It was a hard month but I got through it! I’ll keep a seat warm for you!

  7. Wes Witt says:

    We will be back in town ourselves on the 22nd of October with my mom and step dad. Perhaps we will see you there. Cheers.

    1. I think there’s a fair chance of that Wes!

  8. Jane says:

    So glad you survived the Hiatus, John! And we’re happy to have one of our favorite spots open again!

    1. It’s been traumatic Jane. Wouldn’t put my worst enemy through it!

Leave a Comment